What should I major in?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Caleb Stevens, Feb 24, 2020.

1. Caleb Stevens

Caleb Stevens New Member

Feb 24, 2020

Hello everyone,
    I’m a recent high school grad and have known I have wanted to teach high school for a little while now, but I’ve had to put college off because I keep getting conflicting information about the degree I should get.
    I’m in Georgia and the schools around hear offer a B.a in elementary Ed. And then A B.a in History with teacher cert.
    I’ve had multiple teachers say that B.a in history with teacher cert. will work and then a lot have said it will not.
    I’m having a really hard time trying to get a straight answer and any help would be appreciated!
    Also would just getting a B.a in elementary then moving up to high school be easier?
    Thanks!

3. tchr4vr

tchr4vr Comrade

Feb 24, 2020

Get a B.A. in content with the teacher cert. It will give you other options, if you decide you don't want to be a teacher, or if the job market is tough. Also, as you move forward, get a M.A. in content, because then you are marketable for college teaching, if that is a way you might see yourself going in the future. I can honestly tell you I learned virtually nothing in my education classes.

4. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Feb 24, 2020

Who are you asking for advice? Just random teachers? Speak with someone at the university. When you start going to college you will get an Advisor who you can speak with about what to major in. It seems like you're wasting a lot of time just asking people and not asking the RIGHT people.

futuremathsprof likes this.
  5. OrestesELA

OrestesELA New Member

Feb 24, 2020

STEM field

6. futuremathsprof

futuremathsprof Phenom

Feb 24, 2020

You chose the two subjects that I would be least likely to recommend any aspiring teacher to major in because they are notoriously difficult to find open positions for.

7. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Feb 24, 2020