what should a mentor do??

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by nicole4, Aug 22, 2008.

1. nicole4

nicole4 Rookie

Aug 22, 2008

This is my first year teaching. I was assigned a mentor at my school. I am teaching 2nd grade and she is a 6th grade teacher. This was our first week at school and I have not heard from her at all. I know the first week of school is hectic as it has been for me. However as a mentor shouldn't she have come by or at least sent me an email? Our classrooms are on opposite sides of the building so I never see her during the day. She was assigned to me back in July, and we had a luncheon at school for the new teachers and mentors. I was thinking she would have at least came to look at my classroom since this is my first year. I also know she is getting paid to be a mentor. What are your thoughts. Should I be reporting and contacting her? Am I wrong to feel upset that she hasn't not even stopped by to see me?:unsure:

3. frogger

frogger Devotee

Aug 22, 2008

Yes the mentor should have made contact to you by now or several times. Maybe contact the lead mentor at your school and ask her in a nice way about the role of mentor with you and the mentor/mentee relationship.

4. sophie1

sophie1 Comrade

Aug 22, 2008

Yes, she should have at least stopped by and asked how you were doing and what can she do to help...

5. inhisgrip20

inhisgrip20 Comrade

Aug 22, 2008

My first year teaching I was assigned a mentor. He was basically there to answer any questions I had throughout the year... I barely spoke 5 words with him the whole year. You probably won't have much contact with yours either from the looks of it, especially since you guys are so far apart in location and grade levels (as was my mentor and I).