What school setting you want to teach in and why?

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by BigMeany, Nov 27, 2014.

1. BigMeany

BigMeany Rookie

Nov 27, 2014

I am a Preservice Teacher. Many of my friends say they would go where ever they can. But JUST not in an urban school. My personal preference is I prefer to be in a urban, title I, low-income boundary school. That is my highest preference, I prefer not to be in a Suburban, Rural, Private, or Montessori school; it is not appealing to me, I want to be in schools; where there is this preconceived notion that all students there are misbehaved, have attitudes, low-performing, fighting, low-income students and that is not always the case. I went to an urban school, I did VERY well, and it is mind-boggling and blood-boiling; that others can put down urban schools like they have no value to society. Anyway that is neither here, nor there. My question is being reinstated what type of school you rather teach at and why? Urban, Suburban, Rural, Private or Montessori. Put your :2cents: in....

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Nov 28, 2014

I teach in an urban/inner-city/low-income school. It's not at all where I pictured myself, but it was the first opportunity that presented itself. I was surprised to find that I could be successful in such a setting, because it is so far removed from the type of setting I myself experienced. The burnout rate is very high in these sorts of schools, though, even for teachers like me who have found their niche. It's not easy to teach in this type of setting.

(I was really distracted by your use of punctuation. You might want to work on that.)

4. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Nov 28, 2014

I've worked in an urban, rural, suburban, and Montessori schools, but they were all title 1 schools. Each school has its own challenges and rewards.

I guess I should work at a private school so I can say I've done it all. :lol:

5. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator