What NOT to say to your child's teacher

Discussion in 'General Education' started by tracykaliski, Nov 7, 2008.

1. tracykaliski

tracykaliski Connoisseur

Nov 7, 2008

I swear, I love parent conferences, but sometimes parents just drive me batty.

I have a kindergarten child who is beginning reading in English, and he's a native Russian speaker. I have regular conversations with his parents about what the letters say in Russian so I can keep things straight. Today she proceeds to tell me, "If you can teach him the patterns of the language, I think he'll do so much better." Then she proceeds to tell me the patterns of the English language, most of which are wrong.

So, we get into this little debate of sorts, and I finally tell her that I've been teaching children to read in English for 22 years and have been doing it quite nicely, plus I'm a certified Orton Gillingham tutor, which is basically teaching dyslexic kids the patterns of the English Language so they can understand it to read and write. OOooooooo I was pissed!!!

Thank goodness for the father...he told his wife to stop and let me teach the child because that's why they pay tuition.

And this is also the family whose child is always an hour late to school each day!!!

Edited to add: I guess this should really go in a venting type forum. Sorry about that....if it needs to be moved, please do so! Thanks!

3. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Nov 7, 2008

Oh man! A little faith in your child's teacher shouldn't be too much to ask!~! UGH!

4. SuzieQ

SuzieQ Companion

Nov 7, 2008

An hour late every day? My school had a policy to fine parents (after three tardies)instead of holding detentions for student tardies. Once they are charged they learn their lesson. I have never had a child be late more than 5 min.

5. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

Nov 8, 2008