What makes a good School Administrator?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Cpd Crusader, Apr 23, 2008.

1. Cpd Crusader

Cpd Crusader New Member

Apr 23, 2008

I am an adminstrator in training (graduate school), with the hope of one day being an educational leader in an elementary or middle school. What are some things teachers consider when they evaluate quality school leadership?

3. jenglish97

jenglish97 Devotee

Apr 23, 2008

Hi Cpd Crusader-

I am also back in school getting my administration certification. It is a 2 year program. However, I am not ready to leave the classroom. I have been teaching for 10 years.

Anyway, I have to say I have learned a lot in my first year. I am now seeing things from an administrators point of view of how they work and run the school. I am happy that I have taken these classes. In fact, my relationship with my principal is better because I understand her thinking and why she does things in a certain way.

Things I look for in an administrator:
    1. be a good listener
    2. open door policy - be available during the day
    3. be visible in your building
    4. be consistent in your decisions
    5. make small changes. Do not come in changing everything.

I think that I cam going to have to stop because I know what I am looking for and hope to be. Good luck.

How far are you in your program? BTW how many field intern hours do you have to do?

jen

4. scienceteach82

scienceteach82 Cohort

Apr 23, 2008

Supportive of teachers.
    Visible!
    Approachable!
    Willing to listen and implement new ideas.
    Will be fair.

5. Cpd Crusader

Cpd Crusader New Member

Apr 23, 2008

Wow!!!

Hey Jen...