What major is better for a 3rd grade teacher? Childhood or elementary education

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ChrisC, Jan 22, 2015.

1. ChrisC

ChrisC New Member

Jan 22, 2015

Hello everyone,
    I am currently majoring in early childhood education and want to become a 3rd grade teacher. I want to know from other personal experiences and opinions if majoring in early childhood education courses or elementary courses is better suited for teaching 3rd grade. My school offers elementary education classes with an emphasis in math which I like that it emphasis on math concepts for children, but in your opinion what do you think is a better major or education to take for a 3rd grade teacher. I appreciate any answers.

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jan 22, 2015

Third graders in Texas must do three and four step math problems, distributive property, and setting up proportion problems. If you want to teach third, take the degree plan that has more academics.

4. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Jan 22, 2015

3rd is at the very high end of ECE -- most of EC focuses on child development rather than academics, since the majority of it is pre-elementary school.

If you know you want to teach 3rd, I'd say switch to elementary. I started out in EC, did 2 years of it, and I don't remember learning ANY content area stuff other than very basic math. El. Ed will prepare you better for the required academic subjects in 3rd grade -- especially math and reading.

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Jan 22, 2015

Let's say you can't get 3rd grade. Would you rather end up younger, or older? That will probably help you answer.

6. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Jan 22, 2015

I agree with this.