What made you become a teacher?

Discussion in 'High School' started by ChemTeacher89, Feb 23, 2009.

1. ChemTeacher89

ChemTeacher89 New Member

Feb 23, 2009

Hi, I am new to A to Z teacher stuff, actually I'm new to the idea of teaching. My parents are teachers 2 of 3 sisters are teachers, and one brother in law is a teacher, as well as my girlfriend is in school to be a middle school teacher so i'm not new to education. Over the past several years i have been dedicated to becoming a pharmacist but lately i have found i'm not happy doing this and that teaching is my true calling. I realize teaching brings in a much lower salary and the fact that that doesn't bother me makes me think that I really do want to do it. Can anyone tell me why they became a teacher and what made them realize that teaching was their calling?

3. chemteach55

chemteach55 Connoisseur

Feb 23, 2009

Hi--and welcome. I am like you and come from a family of teachers. My mom, uncle, and 2 cousins are all teachers. I graduated from school with a degree in food science and did not know what to do with it. I had a young baby at the time and taught for one year but quit because I had 2 more children in the next couple of years. I was not going to go back into teaching but after working many long hours as a real estate agent and paralegal, I decided to go back into education. I got an alternative certification in biology, chemistry, and physics and love teaching. I swore I would never teach when I was younger. My daughter swore the same thing and she is getting a degree in elementary education and already has a fellowship for the semester after she student teaches.

4. MrsOrion

MrsOrion Rookie

Mar 2, 2009

My fellow classmates made me want to become a teacher. =)

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Mar 2, 2009

I've wanted to teach since I was in second grade.

( That would be the LBJ administration, for those of you keeping track :) )

6. ZoomZoomZOOM

ZoomZoomZOOM Devotee

Mar 2, 2009