what it your favorite part of second grade?

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by mom2ohc, Dec 3, 2008.

1. mom2ohc

mom2ohc Habitué

Dec 3, 2008

why do you teach second grade?

what do you like about it?:confused:

3. peggy27

peggy27 Cohort

Dec 3, 2008

This is my first year in second grade after about 7 in fourth. I love second grade!!!! The kids are sweet, they are eager to learn, and I am having fun. The down side is they require a lot of patience and repeating. I sometimes feel like I am getting paid to not do a lot of work!! It's a lot easier to do adding 7 and 7 then dividing 345 by 12!!!

4. dr.gator

dr.gator Comrade

Dec 3, 2008

To clarify...I taught 15 and a half years of K and about 2/3 of a year of first grade. This is my first year in second. I absolutely love second graders. When you give directions they have a clue!

5. mom2ohc

mom2ohc Habitué

Dec 3, 2008

my favorite thing is that they are a perfect blend of little and big. they like the little kids stuff, and they can do the big kid stuff. it is a pretty fun grade!

6. old-new teacher

old-new teacher Comrade

Dec 3, 2008

I love that they are old enough to follow directions pretty well, walk in line quietly, but still young enough to still really love school. I don't think I'd want to teach any other grade!

7. jspader02

jspader02 Rookie

Dec 4, 2008

so true! 2nd is definitely my favorite grade! 1st graders are too spacey and 3rd graders just don't have the charm. :wub:

8. Gwen

Gwen Companion

Dec 4, 2008

I'm new to 2nd grade and coming from Kindergarten. I love that they can do things. Just being able to write their name or tie shoes. The can have conversations with you, ask questions, talk about books. They are still young and sweet but are gaining independence. I love 2nd grade. By far my favorite!

9. SaraFirst

SaraFirst Cohort

Dec 5, 2008