What is your drive time to work is 45 mins or 50 mins doable

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by TeacherCuriousExplore, Feb 6, 2017.

1. TeacherCuriousExplore

TeacherCuriousExplore Cohort

Feb 6, 2017

I currently drive 45 mins to work and My fiance is about to take a job at a chicken factory that is 51 mins away. Do you all think we drive too far for work or

is it doable?

I know a good bit of teachers or people that drive a distance to work. It sucks because I really do not like the driving long distances, and the city where I am employed do not offer any homes or apartments for rent that caters to young working professionals. The only way to move is to buy a house. Everything is income restricted. We once acquired about renting a mobile home for 650 a month and the realtor told us we had to make 4 TIMES THE RENT! Although I am only 24 and a half years old and I am just beginning to learn about rental properties and home ownership , I have never heard of this rule. It has always been 3 times the rent.

We will be moving into a one bedroom apartment that is just 552 a month on friday! We are both so excited for this move! The only con is that the apartment is 45 mins away in the same city we live in now.

In August, I will be starting my teacher certification classes that begins at 6 pm and ends at 9 pm on Monday, Weds, thurs, and friday and every other Tuesday. I leave work at 5 pm and will only have an hour for downtime before the classes start. I then have to sit through a 3 hour class then go home and try to regroup for the next day. Will this work itself out

Last edited: Feb 6, 2017
  3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Feb 6, 2017

Congrats on the move!

Honestly, I've done the hour-commute and I know people who do it. It's not uncommon.

4. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Feb 6, 2017