What is your daily Math routine

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by snickers, Nov 26, 2007.

1. snickers

snickers Rookie

Nov 26, 2007

I taught Kindergarten for the last five years and now this is my first year teaching 5th grade Math. I am really struggling with my daily Math routine. When I planned this summer, I thought that I'd do a 10 minute warmup, followed by a 20 minute lesson, followed by independent practice so that I could work with small groups. Well...it doesn't seem to be working that way. I feel like my best days are with dry erase boards so that we all stay in the same place at the same time, but then I'm not getting small groups in. I feel that when I give independent work, they don't finish it, and they don't all seem to complete it for homework. Any input is appreciated!

3. pokybloom

pokybloom Rookie

Nov 26, 2007

We do ADD (15-20 min), a lesson together (either myself showing, then students trying it out on the board or with white boards) for 20-30 min, then independent practice (sometimes buddy practice if some are still confused and some understand) Anything they don't finish during class time is homework. Also on Wednesdays, we do timed multiplication tests and Fridays (since it's a short math class), we do some review from the week and Math Olympiad (I teach 5th grade gifted, but any problem solving would probably be beneficial once a week or so)

As far as turning work in, they have study hall on Friday if they have missing assignments, and I write missing work in the planners on Friday for parents to sign as well...some still have lots of missing work, but I figure if the parents know, then my job is done.

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Nov 27, 2007