What is the hardest thing about teaching Special Ed?

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by KindredSpirit83, Nov 19, 2005.

1. KindredSpirit83

KindredSpirit83 Rookie

Nov 19, 2005

I'm majoring in Special Education and I have never gotten to really get to talk to any teachers, so I'm hoping to get some input from you guys :)

What is the most challenging thing about teaching Special Education? I am asking because I am so nervous that I might not do a good job (I'm graduating soon) but I have always wanted to teach Special Ed

3. kinderkids

kinderkids Virtuoso

Nov 19, 2005

I am not a special ed teacher, but I would have to imagine one of the most difficult things is the mounds and mounds of paperwork that is required of spec. ed teachers!!! Seems like they are required to do more and more each year..........and all the meetings they need to attend. Seems like they are taken out of the classroom to attend meetings far to much. Both of my boys are on the autistic spectrum and in spec. ed.........so I have seen a lot of it through that perspective. I always feel for those poor spec ed teachers and all of the paperwork they are required to do. I am sure an actual spec ed teacher could give you better ideas. This is simply coming from a different perspective.

4. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Nov 19, 2005

I would also say that the paperwork would be one of the toughest things. I am also not a special ed. teacher, but when I student taught in an inclusion classroom (13 of 26 were on IEPs) and the paperwork that the special ed teacher needed to fill-out seemed endless sometimes!

5. GlendaLL

GlendaLL Aficionado

Nov 19, 2005