What Is The First Month Like?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by DressageLady, Aug 19, 2013.

1. DressageLady

DressageLady Comrade

Aug 19, 2013

I am a recently credentialed teacher who has had no luck finding a job this hiring season. I am in the sub system for one district already and will get into the system of another district in three weeks (after I attend their training). I have had some experience subbing already, but not a whole lot and it was all towards the end of the year (last May).

My question is this: what does the first few weeks of the school year look like? Looking back on my experiences as a student teacher, I don't remember seeing many subs in the building the first 3-4 weeks of the school year.

My expectation is that classroom teachers will be too busy getting everything up and running, they won't want to miss a day unless they absolutely have to. I am thinking that I won't get any calls the first couple of weeks.

What have the more experienced subs here seen during the first few weeks?
    Sheilah

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 19, 2013

Classroom teacher here---I would say there generally aren't many absences within the first few weeks of school. Workshops haven't generally started yet, teachers aren't calling in sick yet. Sit tight- you'll be busy soon! :love:

4. Mister Eric

Mister Eric Rookie

Aug 19, 2013

School started here two weeks ago. Week one there were no sub jobs at all, which is not surprising. Week 2 there was one job in total that came through (for me) but future jobs (PD days in the next few months) are starting to come down the pike.