What is balanced literacy?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by balancedlit, Apr 11, 2011.

1. balancedlit

balancedlit New Member

Apr 11, 2011

I post here occassionally but I'm embarrassed to post this under my username. What is balanced literacy? I did not learn about this in my teacher prep program and I really don't know what it is. Is this the same thing as reader and writer's workshop? If not, how is it different?

I'm looking to apply to a school that is all about balanced literacy but I have zero experience with this and never even learned the term. Anything you can tell me would be very helpful.

Thank you. :)

3. cruiserteacher

cruiserteacher Comrade

Apr 11, 2011

I really don't know the definition, but I would guess it involves guided reading, independent reading, writing, and phonics (or word work). Don't feel bad, I don't know that I've ever heard the term either.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 11, 2011

I would say that balanced literacy is a philosophy that provides many opportunities for real life reading and writing experiences. . Children read and write each day independently and in group settings. Reading can include:
    Reading aloud to children
    Shared reading - whole class
    Guided reading - small group
    Independent reading
    Writing experiences can include:
    Shared writing - whole class
    Interactive writing - whole class
    Writer's workshop - small groups or individual
    Independent writing

Word work is also a key component...some balanced lit classrooms integrate centers to differentiate instruction and to have kids engaged in meaningful literacy activities while the teacher works in small groups....
    Balanced lit is about a balanced approach between direct instruction, guided practice and independent practice with a respect for differentiation...there are some balanced lit 'programs' which prescribe specific time requirements, materials, and management techniques....

5. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee