What is a great teacher

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teachingtoo, Apr 17, 2021.

1. Teachingtoo

Teachingtoo Rookie

Apr 17, 2021

How do you know you're doing good or great as teacher? What are the other signs apart from hearing some of your students say "Miss, you're my favorite teacher" or something along those lines...does admin say anything? Do you just feel it and know you're doing good even if you aren't told.
    This crosses my mind every now and then, I just want to be the best that I can be as a teacher and hope that my students actaully mean it when they say they like me...it means that I'm a good teacher and doing what a teacher is supposed to do. I sometimes don't believe them, i think they say it to all teachers☹️

3. Tyler B.

Tyler B. Groupie

Apr 18, 2021

Great question. One way to tell is that students love coming to your class. Great teachers do not set out with the purpose of being liked (and you didn't say this), but being liked is a byproduct of great teaching.

Tired Teacher and Teachingtoo like this.
  4. Peachpies

Peachpies Rookie

Apr 22, 2021

Being great teacher is 100% opinion. The teaching profession is almost all opinion based.

Backroads, Teachingtoo and nstructor like this.
  5. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Maven

Apr 22, 2021

One person might have a different definition of a great teacher than another person. Even if 50 people told you that you were a great teacher there might be that one person who says you aren't. I think most teachers do certain things that are "great" but the overall designation can be up for interpretation.

6. Lucas21

Lucas21 New Member

Apr 23, 2021

Great teacher is someone who teaches about life and prepares student for the future with the education she is teaching

Tired Teacher and Teachingtoo like this.
  7. MrTempest

MrTempest Companion

Apr 26, 2021

Great teacher is someone who teaches about life and prepares student for the future with the education he is teaching