What if teaching isn't a good fit?

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by jedipwnces, Aug 20, 2008.

1. jedipwnces

jedipwnces Rookie

Aug 20, 2008

I may be posting this in the wrong forum... (or on the wrong site- I promise I have no intention of offending any of you! Quite the opposite!) Let me know if that's the case!

I have a dilemma. I have assumed I was going to teach since I graduated from high school (I'm now 25). I went to school and, due to some confusion regarding certification transfer between states (Texas & Oklahoma) on the part of my advisers, I was told I would do better to get a degree in a content area that interested me, rather than getting an education degree (big mistake!), and that becoming certified upon graduation wouldn't be difficult at all.

I enrolled in an alternative certification program shortly after graduating from college, and have had jobs as a tutor (inside and outside of our local school district) and as a teaching assistant for the previous three years. I've really gotten a feel for what a teaching job requires of a person, and (long story short), I don't think I'm cut out for it!