What if I'm not that good at Math!??!

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by crillman, Aug 22, 2007.

1. crillman

crillman New Member

Aug 22, 2007

Hi all...
    Former Elementary School Teach wanting to get into Single Subject Math.

Planning on taking sub test I and II only. Read lots of great stuff on study material, however wondering if anybody out there WITHOUT a math background and might not be "the best at math" has taken and passed the CSET I and II test. (Background: Algebra I and II, Geometry, some stats)

ALSO...how realistic are those sample questions on the CSET website. Are those sample questions realistic representations of the real test questions?

I'm hoping somebody can make me feel a little better about my chances.

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 22, 2007

Um. I believe it CAN be done, and if you're far enough south I can suggest someone who's helped people in your position... but it's definitely a challenge.

4. crillman

crillman New Member

Aug 22, 2007

I'm in Orange County (Irvine).

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 22, 2007

Please go to the User Control Panel (use the Forum Jump tool at the bottom of the page; it's the first of the choices) and enable private messages; if it doesn't give you that option yet, find a couple of things to post on and then try again.

So what's got you wanting to be a math teacher?

6. innovationguy

innovationguy Cohort

Aug 22, 2007

I understand the general apprehensiveness of candidates about taking a specialized Math test probably long after advanced topics ceased to be familiar. But it shall buck you up to know that from my interactions with hundreds of prospective Math teachers for the CSET in the last 4 years, about 90%+ of these chaps are either

a) Elementary [/ Middle School] teachers, with very rudimentary Algebra skills, who WANT to pass the CSET since they wish to teach at a Middle [/High School] level

OR