What Has Your Teaching Experience Been Like (For You)?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mahadragon, Mar 29, 2008.

1. mahadragon

mahadragon Rookie

Mar 29, 2008

Just wanted some thoughts on your experiences on teaching in general. What have your experiences been like through your life thus far? Some of you seem very experienced, knowing how to adapt to some very strange behaviors (like one student who from moved from desk to desk to answer the next question).

I am a new substitute teacher, having just experienced my first teaching job yesterday. It was for an elective english class in an alternative school 11 and 12 grade (I had no idea it was an alternative school when I signed on for the job). I am excited about the path in front of me.

What is surprising is what I can glean from the students as well as the other way. I know I have many faults, however, due to the fact that my jobs (paid and not paid) in life has never really demanded it. Teaching has helped me to open my eyes to many of my shortcomings.

Many of these students inherently trust me and look to me for guidance. It's an unusual position for me.

Lots of the students seemed like perfectly ordinary high school kids despite the fact this was an alternative school. They seemed to look at me alot, as if to say, "what are you going to do now?" It's weird because it's the first time in my life I've been looked to so many times. :hugs:

3. moonbeamsinajar

moonbeamsinajar Habitué

Mar 29, 2008

How much do I enjoy teaching? Alot. Although I started at it relatively late (stayed home with my kids for 15 years), I love my career. I would not quit even if I won the lottery and was independently wealthy!

4. mahadragon

mahadragon Rookie

Mar 29, 2008