What good teaching book(s) are you reading or have read recently??

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Green_eyed_gal, Mar 9, 2008.

1. Green_eyed_gal

Green_eyed_gal Comrade

Mar 9, 2008

I'm just curious what good teaching books people have read lately...

I'm currently reading... Teach Like Your Hair's on Fire, by Rafe Esquith. I can't put it down!! :)

My next book is going to be.. The Caring Teacher's Guide to Discipline, by Marilyn E. Gootman. Has anyone read this one???

I'm a new teacher so I'm trying to absorb as much information as I can before I get my own classroom..

Other books I've recently read are... Tools for Teaching, by Fred Jones...What Great Teachers Do Differently, by Todd Whitaker and 101 "Answers" for New Teachers and Their Mentors.

I'm always on the hunt for a good read.. So, what's on your reading list???

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Mar 9, 2008

I read Harry Wong's First Days of School every summer before starting back into the classroom to refresh my memory. I finished Funk and Fay's Teaching with Love&Logic a month ago. Renee Lowden's You Have to Go to School-You're the Teacher is another great one to read!

4. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Mar 9, 2008

I'm reading, And With a Light Touch..... it's fairly old I think. I found it on paperbackwap and I like it... it deals with literacy in the primary grades.

5. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Mar 9, 2008

Okay, I have been ill, so I have an entire stack of them!

If you haven't had it for a college course, you should read Guided Comprehension: A Teaching Model for Grades 3 through 8, by McLaughlin & Allen, at least if you are teaching one of those grades, lol. It was a textbook in one of my literacy classes, but I think the ideas and methods contained in it are really well-researched AND practical (something some methods are not).

Making the Most of Small Groups: Differentiation for All, by Debbie Diller. This one is especially good for elementary.