What do your cards say?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by jen12, Aug 4, 2010.

1. jen12

jen12 Devotee

Aug 4, 2010

I'm thinking of re-doing my sub business cards. They currently say

Substitute Teacher
    SB2042 Credential

My name
    My ID number for the district

My contact information

I'm thinking of just saying "Teacher," and getting rid of the "substitute" part. I think that's redundant since it's obvious that I'm leaving the card after a day of subbing. I also am beginning to resent the different title. After all, I'm a credentialed teacher who happens to be subbing, not a representative of a "sometimes" subculture.

I've seen cards that say things like the days available or cute little sayings about being glad to take your class, but I tend to think less is more.

Thoughts?

3. tiki7719

tiki7719 Companion

Aug 5, 2010

I was just going to post something asking what I should put on my business card!

Mine would have to say "substitute teacher" as I do not have any credentials yet to have my own class. I think it would be beneficial to you to get rid of the "substitute".

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 5, 2010

I think you need to keep personal feelings out of it.

You want to make yourself an attractive candidate. Including the word "substitute" on the card makes it easy for the reader to know why he or she is holding your card.

When I apply for a freelance writing position, I call myself a "freelance writer" even though my "REAL" title is math teacher-- freelance is just something I do over the summer (mostly) for spare cash.

Figure that a teacher is looking for a sub. She is holding 2 dozen business cards, all from qualified teachers. You want YOURS to be the one she picks.

So make clear:
    -WHO you are
    -WHAT you're capapble of teaching-- not just the numbers on the credential, but the grades you're certified to teach
    - Your contact info