What do you wear to work?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bewlove, Jun 28, 2014.

1. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Jun 28, 2014

I'm just curious. My fellow teachers that I met at a recent in-service told me that my P is pretty laid back about work attire, as long as we aren't wearing t-shirts all of the time.

As a new teacher, I don't want to be overdressed, but I don't want to look like a slob either! I definitely think a blazer/suit type outfit would be too much for my school setting, but that nice shirts and dress pants, capris, skirts, or khakis would be fine.

It got me wondering...what is your school like as far as wardrobe? Do you have jean Fridays? What do you feel overdressed/under dressed in?

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jun 28, 2014

I wear dresses most of the time. I do have a few pairs of dress slacks and capris and a few skirts. I wear mostly heels (sandals) in warm weather and boots in winter.

We do have jean Fridays. Sometimes I wear them. Other times not. I'm not a fan of jeans.

Our school is pretty casual. We aren't allowed to wear jeans, t-shirts, shorts, tank tops, flip flops, sweats, short dresses, see-through clothes, or anything that shows cleavage. Men have to wear a collared shirt.

4. HistoryVA

HistoryVA Devotee

Jun 28, 2014

I wear nice pants and a blouse 90% of the time. Occasionally a dress. We do not have "Dress Down" Fridays; jeans are never allowed. We are allowed to wear school-related t-shirts as long as it's not with jeans or shorts. We are not allowed to wear sneakers unless they're all black and not too sneakery looking (like Converse hightops). No flip/flops, ofc.

I like the image we promote- it's very professional. I rarely see someone that I feel is inappropriately dressed.

5. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Jun 28, 2014

My advice with a new school is to overdress until you're comfortable going with what others are wearing.

6. chebrutta

chebrutta Enthusiast

Jun 28, 2014