What do you think of these books?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by Lyquidphyre, Jun 2, 2007.

1. Lyquidphyre

Lyquidphyre Comrade

Jun 2, 2007

I was planning to take a trip to my local bookstore to thumb through these, but I was curious if anyone here has read them and what they think of them:

First-Year Teacher's Survival Kit: Ready-to-Use Strategies, Tools & Activities for Meeting the Challenges of Each School Day

Fred Jones Tools for Teaching

Biology Teacher's Survival Guide: Tips, Techniques & Materials for Success in the Classroom

Discipline Survival Kit for the Secondary Teacher (J-B Ed:Survival Guides)

EDIT TO ADD:
    Your First Year As a High School Teacher : Making the Transition from Total Novice to Successful Professional (Paperback)

Since I don't have a job yet (going to be a first year teacher) I can't really plan lessons.. but the only thing I feel I can plan is how I want to run my classroom and I have plenty of time to read =o)

Are there any other books I should look into for secondary teaching?

3. Happy Lady

Happy Lady Rookie

Jun 2, 2007

Books

I would suggest First Days of School by Harry Wong. Also, I enjoyed The Essential 55 by Ron Clark. Happy reading!

4. Miss Kirby

Miss Kirby Fanatic

Jun 2, 2007

Fred Jones is a must have!

5. Lyquidphyre

Lyquidphyre Comrade

Jun 2, 2007

Happy Lady- I got the impression that First Days of School was a book better suited for elementary school teachers. I will look into the other one, though- thanks!

6. michelb366

michelb366 Comrade

Jun 2, 2007

Once you decide on what books you'd like, see if you can trade for them at www.paperbackswap.com I've gotten lots of great books (a few that would have cost over $40!) for free... ok, for postage, but it's like free!

7. runsw/scissors

runsw/scissors Phenom

Jun 3, 2007