What Do You Think Of My Cover Letter

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Miz_Jay, Dec 14, 2011.

1. Miz_Jay

Miz_Jay Companion

Dec 14, 2011

I have once again changed my cover letter. How do y'all think it sounds? I'm about to jump back into serious job searching/sending CLs & resumes blind.

I am writing to express my interest in obtaining the position as a kindergarten teacher at Lake Crest Elementary School. I graduated from Eastern Illinois University in May 2010 with a Bachelors of Science in Elementary Education.
    During student teaching, I had the chance to work with diverse group of students at Westview Elementary School in Champaign. It was a pleasure teaching these students who helped me grow as a teacher. While student teaching, I shared all of the successes of my students as well as all of the challenges they faced, and it was amazing. Westview has a wonderful reading program; during my student teaching I learned how to lead a reading group with students who were reading below grade level. In this reading group we focused on strengthening some of their basic reading skills including decoding, and reading comprehension strategies.
    In August 2010 I began working at Happi Time Daycare as an assistant teacher in the toddler room. For the past year I have been the head teacher in that room. Working with this age group is vastly different from anything that I was prepared for; they are sometimes challenging, but they are always entertaining and wonderful. I learned very quickly that with this age group, flexibility is very important because they lose interest in activities quickly. Teaching these children has allowed me to experience child development firsthand.
    I am also currently substituting in the Champaign Unit 4 School District. Substitute teaching is a wonderful experience because I am able to teach at different grade level. I am able to learn more management strategies as well as improve my teaching ability.