What do you think about putting a student teacher in a new teacher's classroom?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Youngteacher226, Nov 11, 2007.

1. Youngteacher226

Youngteacher226 Enthusiast

Nov 11, 2007

I'm a little stressed, needless to say. I am in my 2nd year of teaching and I have a student teacher. Not just a student teacher, but a teacher who's been "teaching" or subbing for 9 years and returning to school in her later years. Everything seemed okay for the first week but now I'm kinda looking at the calendar waiting for her last day! She is an older lady and is only student teaching to fulfil her requirement to get her certification. She's not used to primary kids and admits that she doesn't have the patience for younger students. She yells alot at my kids, criticizes them to me and in front of them and is just a negative person. I'm thinking part of her negativity is because it is early in the year and my 2nd graders are still acting like 1st graders! They may wiggle a little bit, talk to thier friends at inappropriate times, get up to get a tissue, etc. But they are only 6-7 years old for heaven's sake!!!! We all know it takes them time to mature, learn to follow directions etc. She doesn't get that and looks at that as if the kids are "running over me". She has even lectured the students and said "you all are running over Ms. X." I couldn't believe that she told my kids that!:mad:I think they came a long way since the first week of school. They have made great progress. She made me feel like I was 1 inch tall. Like I am not a good teacher. And I would consider myself a fairly strict teacher, and I expect my students to follow the classroom rules at all times. They do not talk back to me, disobey me or anything like that. I don't know where she's getting their "running over me".:confused: