what do you love?

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by chrissy, Oct 12, 2007.

1. chrissy

chrissy Rookie

Oct 12, 2007

I just received a check from my school for $277.00 to buy things for my class. I'm a brand new teacher and I would love to know some things that you use with your class that you just could not live without!

3. maroki

maroki Comrade

Oct 12, 2007

I couldn't live without....

My individual student whiteboards (each about the size of a student desk), markers, and mini-erasers that go along with them.

4. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

Oct 12, 2007

A really good pencil sharpener is a must.

5. TeacherSandra

TeacherSandra Enthusiast

Oct 12, 2007

Are you talking about extra fun things to have in class? or the basics?

Basics = great bulletin/wall items that stay up yr. round.

Fun stuff = wow; I wouldn't even know where to begin?! I've never had such a great offer before!

Have fun with whatever you do! :love:

6. bonneb

bonneb Fanatic

Oct 13, 2007

math manipulatives; colored dry erase markers; blocks; rubber animals/reptiles/insects; pencil sharpener; good stapler; maybe a subscription to a magazine like Mailbox, or to a good website; books! good quality supplies for your desk if the school does not supply things; very few "how to" books - be very selective.

Have fun!

7. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Oct 13, 2007

a digital camera

8. DaveF

DaveF Companion

Oct 13, 2007

Let me add a laser pointer to the list. I randomly write my high freq. words on the white board. Stand in the back and point. The kids love it.

9. MissHunny

MissHunny Comrade

Oct 13, 2007

books for a great classroom library. I have about 45 book baskets that go with topics/ authors. It's great! A basket for snakes, a basket for david Shannon, a basket for poetry, etc.

10. SaraFirst

SaraFirst Cohort

Oct 13, 2007

a big easel, mine is a magnetic whiteboard with baskets underneath (it might be too expensive though)

11. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Oct 13, 2007