What do you like and dislike about your job?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Wonderwall, Apr 6, 2015.

1. Wonderwall

Wonderwall New Member

Apr 6, 2015

Hello. I'm a student who seeks to work as an elementary school teacher so I want to ask elementary school teachers about the points you like and dislike to hear some opinions. If you have any recommendations or advice, please tell me. Thanks in advance!

3. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Apr 7, 2015

(I'm a former teacher, so take this as you will)

Likes: camaraderie with colleagues, seeing student growth, opportunities for creative lesson teaching

Dislikes: micromanaging by admin, disrespect by the public, disrespectful students (and lack of support by admin), overzealous (in a bad way) parents

4. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Apr 7, 2015

Likes: teaching something new and the kids loving it, reading a book out loud and kids beg me to keep reading, working with my team, seeing kids laugh and learn

Dislikes: RTI (it seems so fake to me), micromanagement by admin, lazy students who do not try, parents asking me to deal with problems that are really home problems not school problems.

5. LisaLisa

LisaLisa Companion

Apr 7, 2015

Likes: teaching, planning, creating lessons, doing a formal lesson without the observation/evaluation, seeing the light bulb go off - with one student or on that rare instance with an entire class, sharing a good laugh with the class,
    Dislikes: administration or other teachers who don't get special ed, parents who are hard to contact or don't respond to my notes/calls, teaching when I am sick, head lice, bed bugs, students throwing up in the classroom, being interrupted (knock on door, phone rings) just when the class is on the brink of understanding and I forget what it was that I said to get them on the brink, doing report cards, the day before or after vacation, mean people (students and other teachers)

6. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Apr 7, 2015