What do you expect from your assistant?

Discussion in 'Montessori Archives' started by Pattypoo, Sep 19, 2004.

1. Pattypoo

Pattypoo Comrade

Sep 19, 2004

I have 2 assistants. One works in the am and the other in the pm. They both have different styles (and neither one is like mine) lol Anyway, I would like to make a list for them to go over together to divvy up the work. I find that I am still doing most of the assistants work, copying, making snack, etc. Before becoming a directress, I worked as an assistant. The teacher and I worked very well together and we were more like partners. I feel frustrated that I don't have that with either assistant. Any advice?

3. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Sep 19, 2004

list

Make a different list for each one. And ask them to do what is on the list and make the list long, with the most important thing listed first and etc down the list. If you have no, nos list them also. Our teacher keeps her list on the side of her desk. She uses those cute magnetic shopping list with lines from the dollar store. If the assistant just goes and sits down she gets the list and tells her to please start on the top as this is what I need you to do for me today.

4. Pattypoo

Pattypoo Comrade

Sep 20, 2004

That sounds like a good idea. I have started a list of what needs to be done everyday. Thanks.

5. Pamper

Pamper Guest

Sep 21, 2004

Montessori Directress of a Toddler Class