What do you do when you don’t like how a lesson went?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by zmp2018, Mar 16, 2018.

1. zmp2018

zmp2018 Rookie

Mar 16, 2018

Hi, all!

I have been a lurker on this site for a while, and I finally am posting. Yay!

I am a pre-student teacher. Basically, I go into a high school for half a school day and teach my mentor’s morning classes over a six-week period. I only have roughly a week and a half left in the classroom.

Overall, my experience has been very positive. The students enjoy having me in the class, and I haven’t had any major issues.

I did a lesson today, and my mentor gave me a crash course of it prior to the period in which I presented it. When it came time to present the lesson, I felt as if it did not go well, at all. I just felt really crummy about it. The students seemed that they understood what I was *trying* to do, but I felt that it could’ve been 100x better if I had more time to prepare. My mentor wasn’t in the room, so he isn’t really able to offer critiques about what I should have done. He also usually gives me plenty of time to prepare a lesson, but I felt that today was his way of challenging me, and honestly, I don’t know if I passed.

What do you do when you don’t like how a lesson went? I feel bad about it and feel that the students probably think I’m a moron.

Part of the process, I guess?

3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Mar 16, 2018

Here's my process (or at least what I strive for as my process...ha) for my thinking process after a lesson:'
    -- What was it that went well? Where were the bright spots, and what can I capture so that I can repeat that in the future? This is just as important as identifying struggles (if done right), as you don't want to have to reinvent the wheel each time.