What Do Teenagers Eat?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Chef Dave, Jun 26, 2008.

1. Chef Dave

Chef Dave Companion

Jun 26, 2008

Hello All!

I'm a high school chef instructor and am always looking for new ideas to incorporate into our student operated restaurant.

What do teenagers like to eat?

We currently serve a daily changing plated meal and have a small static menu for lunch. Our static menu includes: flame grilled hamburgers, fries, bean burritos, green chili burritos, pizza bread, and fresh fruit salad.

All of the items on our static menu are popular.

Popular plated meals have included chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes, country gravy and corn, beef enchiladas with Spanish rice and refried beans, and spaghetti with meat sauce and garlic toast.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jun 26, 2008

Students (and teachers) at my school love big salads with a lot of bulk--taco, Caesar, Asian sesame, whatever.

I think you should include at least one healthy choice, too. Teenagers don't need to just eat burgers, pasta, pizza, and burritos. When I look at our own school's lunches, I cringe just knowing that on each student's plate is about 2,000 calories. Yuck.

4. Bored of Ed

Bored of Ed Enthusiast

Jun 26, 2008

I don't know all that much about teens, but I agree with Cassie -- salads are big (especially among the diet-conscious girls!)

5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Jun 26, 2008

My two childen will eat almost anything (unless it's a cooked vegetable, then my son won't touch it!). Salads (chicken caesar, greek, garden, spinach, etc) are popular as others have said. What about other cold choices--bagels, wraps, sandwiches, etc.?

6. Brendan

Brendan Fanatic

Jun 26, 2008

Chicken Fingers or Buffalo Wings/Chickens (alone or in a Sandwhich/wrap).

7. ~mrs.m~

~mrs.m~ Comrade

Jun 26, 2008

My 16 y.o. daughter loves salads, wraps, chicken nuggets, green beans, fruit, and pizza.

8. glen

glen Companion

Jun 26, 2008