What do Teachers Like Subs to Do?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by mckbearcat48, Jul 29, 2016.

1. mckbearcat48

mckbearcat48 Cohort

Jul 29, 2016

Well, I'm going to be subbing again. I hate it and myself for doing it, but you classroom teachers and the kids deserve my best efforts every day.

What do all y'all regular teachers want to see from a sub?

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jul 29, 2016

It depends on the sub. If I know the sub and know that they can do a good job, I have them teach my regular plans. If it is a sub I have never used before, or one that I don't think can handle a lot, I have them focus on review plans. I always expect them to handle the class professionally and follow the plans I have left.

I don't expect them to do grading, attend meetings, participate in after school activities, etc. I also don't expect them to reply to parent notes, other than to tell them I will contact them when I return.

4. mckbearcat48

mckbearcat48 Cohort

Jul 29, 2016

I want to sub for you then. I love the teaching part of the day even its a few minutes a day.

5. miss-m

miss-m Devotee

Jul 29, 2016

Do you have business cards you can leave for teachers whose classes you'd like to teach again? I found that helped me get requested for jobs, which was always nice. You can make them really easily in ms word or go all out and get nice ones online. I know that probably makes subbing feel more permanent than you'd like, but it really does make a difference with networking that could lead to relationships with staff and a full time job.

(Sorry I can't help with your initial question, as my only experience is student teaching or subbing haha.)

mckbearcat48 likes this.
  6. mckbearcat48

mckbearcat48 Cohort

Jul 29, 2016

Yeah, I have about 10000 business cards from my law days as well as a picture resume I dropped off in different schools.

Good luck to you too!

7. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jul 29, 2016