What do kinder teachers want their kids to learn?!

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by brejohnson88, Jul 18, 2010.

1. brejohnson88

brejohnson88 Comrade

Jul 18, 2010

Hello!!!
    I am a first year teacher (pre-k). I just thought I would ask all of you kinder teachers what you would like your kids to know when they walk in your room out of a pre-k program. Anything will help. Thanks :)

3. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Jul 18, 2010

I'm more concerned with behavior at the beginning of the year. If the children understood what it meant to be part of a classroom community, how to problem-solve, and basic "school behaviors" (raising their hand, lining up quietly, not playing around in the bathroom), I would be a happy camper! I don't expect them to be perfect, but to have some knowledge and understanding in this area would be fantastic.

As for academics, it would be very helpful if they knew the basics: how to write their name with only the first letter capital, how to cut, how to use a glue stick, crayons aren't for writing on tables and walls, etc.

For everything else, I think exposure is important: exposing them to shapes and attributes, sorting, counting, number recognition, letters and sounds, concepts of print, rhyming, making predictions, etc. I wouldn't expect them to be experts, but if they were just exposed to and developing these skills that would be nice!

4. zoey'smom

zoey'smom Cohort

Jul 18, 2010

I agree with everything that DrivingPigeon said, I would also be happy if they could follow or know about the school routine of things, like walking not running in school, quiet in the hall, and what it is to be a friend.

I would also like the kids to be able to hold the scissors and pencil correctly. Last year I had several that didn't know how to use scissors. They were using both hands.

5. zoey'smom

zoey'smom Cohort

Jul 18, 2010