What do I need to do?!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by CDOR79, Aug 18, 2017.

1. CDOR79

CDOR79 Comrade

Aug 18, 2017

I am a certified k-5 elementary teacher (been teaching Third for 6 years now) and I just got my special ed cert, in hopes it would make me more marketable and open up opportunities to find a new job. I LOVE my job now (in a Catholic school) but am looking to get into a public school system for more money and stability.

I have been looking for the past 4 years and have gotten SOME interviews but nothing else. I definitely thought I'd have luck this summer, as I just completed my special ed cert and now had that under my belt.

Any words of advice on what I need to do to help me make this move? Do I need specialization in ANOTHER area? Subject? More experience? Don't get it it!

3. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Aug 18, 2017

It is definitely tough. I took my first job in a district I knew I would not work in for my whole teaching career but it was the only offer I got and I knew it wouldn't be a job I'd hate, just not my "forever" district. It took me six years to get a job in a new district. I job hunted every single summer after my second year in my original district. During that time I added on three certifications, though the job I eventually got was actually in my original certified area. It's tough but you just need to keep trying. Two of my former coworkers left the same district after working there for 9 years and 12 years. They hadn't been actively looking every single summer, but definitely for several of them.