What do I do? AAH! Quick advice please!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by silvroses, May 19, 2008.

1. silvroses

silvroses Rookie

May 19, 2008

I normally am more of a reader than a poster, but I could use some advice. Here is my brief background info- I graduated in 2005 and am certified in grades 1-8 and have had absolutely no luck finding a teaching job (the market here in Southeastern Wisconsin is absolutely saturated.) Well, I did some interviews recently at some Catholic schools and two of them called me two hours apart! School 1 wants to meet with me later today because they are having a tough time deciding between me and another candidate. School 2 left a message on my voicemail (I am substitute teaching today and am on prep time right now) that they want to offer me the position!

Can I call back school 2 later and let them know I received another offer and ask for 48 hours to think about it?

School 1 really is my first choice- closer to home, more of a mixture of urban and suburban. School 2 is really nice as well although it is more inner city and is a longer drive. I absolutely loved the staff at both schools that I have met (both had the principal and 2 teachers at the interviews.)

Will it look bad for me to ask for more time from school 2 or is that something that is common?

Please if someone could let me know asap, it would be great.

P.S. I am so excited I am almost shaking! :)

3. Kangaroo22

Kangaroo22 Virtuoso

May 19, 2008

I think that's fine to tell school 2 that you would like 48 hours to think about it and it is common. Many people need to discuss a job offer with their family before they can accept it. Good luck today and congratulations on the job offer!

4. scienceteach82

scienceteach82 Cohort

May 19, 2008

Congrats! That is fine to tell them that you need some time :)

5. Jem

Jem Aficionado

May 19, 2008