What did you wish your teacher education program focused on?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by tiki7719, Aug 22, 2014.

1. tiki7719

tiki7719 Companion

Aug 22, 2014

I am wrapping up my last year of classes for my Masters in Special Education. This time next year I will be student teaching (yikes!).

Overall, I am a bit disappointed with my program as there have been no emphasis on IEP writing or lesson plan creation for special education. From my remaining course descriptions, it will not be addressed either.

This is a common issue (lesson planning) amongst friends who are working on their degrees in a content area, or elementary ed. The school is aware of our concerns as well.

Looking back-- what do you wish was covered in your teacher education program?

3. wldywall

wldywall Connoisseur

Aug 22, 2014

You got it, IEP writing and special education lesson plan writing.....and I have a Masters in Special Education!

I had a series of classes on Emotional Impairments (my cert) and those were the best because every class the prof (usually the same one) would give us a scenario and allow us to talk it through.

However a lot of EI/EC kids are also LD. That is where I felt it was lacking, more specifically how do you make sure you are choosing a lesson that specifically hits the target on the IEP and how do you know you picked the right target for the student?

Too many generalities, thankfully I have learned some along the way, and have found that their are resources to help you pick goals for IEP writing, but I should have had more experience.

4. chitown

chitown Companion

Aug 22, 2014