What criteria do doctors use to test for ADD/ADHD?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Jerseygirlteach, Jun 2, 2015.

1. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Jun 2, 2015

I have a question for anyone in the know. I have a student who, in my opinion (and I fully admit I have no medical background whatsoever) is a classic ADD or ADHD kid. A few months ago, I described him in a thread like this:

I am so frustrated by one of my students. I know that he probably cannot help it, but I'm at the end of my rope with him. He spends about 90% of the day daydreaming or otherwise distracted. He is so distracted that he misses everything going on around him. I'll speak to the entire class about how to do something and I look over and he's looking at the back of the room. I tell him to look forward and a minute later I catch him drawing on his eraser. I take away his eraser and he's playing with his fingers - staring at them. When I ask him if he's heard anything I said or knows what's happening, he admits that he has no idea.

I've yet to find the lesson or activity that fully engages him. When I reprimand him, I get "Sorry, I was daydreaming." Then he goes right back. I know he's probably ADD, but as far as I know, it's undiagnosed and he's definitely not on meds. I've called mom and she just tells me to yell at him all I want to get him in gear. I don't want to yell at him all the time, but I do want him to focus. When I physically force him to pay attention by moving into his personal space, he actually grasps things relatively quickly compared to what one might expect of him. So, it breaks my heart to think how much he's missing in his dreamworld.