What contact information....

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Schuyler, Jun 9, 2007.

1. Schuyler

Schuyler Comrade

Jun 9, 2007

do you provide? I'm planning on getting magnets with my contact information to send home to parents with my introductory letter. Should I include my home phone number or just school? I'm a new teacher and don't want it to look bad if I don't include my home number, but I've heard a lot of teachers say they avoid that.

Also, how do you sign your name on things to parent? For this magnet, I wasn't sure if I should indicate my full name, or just Mrs. ______.

TIA!

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 9, 2007

You might consider your email as an alternative.

I can't imagine any crisis at school that would require a parent or a student to call me at home. A REAL crisis would go to the administration, and they have my home number. Anything else can wait until tomorrow morning or until I check my email.

(PS: consider including the phone number they need to call their kids in sick. My son's 2nd grade teacher had the kids make one 2 years ago, and it's wonderful to have on the fridge!!!)

And sign it as you want the kids to refer to you: Mrs. Schuyler. It feels a bit weird at first, but only to you-- that's what they're used to.

4. teachersk

teachersk Connoisseur

Jun 9, 2007

Our parents have to call transportation if their child will not be on the bus that morning. That would be a good number to include if this is the case for you as well !

I agree on the home phone number. I think it's best to keep that off. I try to not give out my home address or phone number just because I like to stay sane. I give out my school e-mail address which I can check at home, and I have a pretty extensive parent-communication method, so I don't feel that anyone should be calling me at my home after hours.

5. Erin Elizabeth

Erin Elizabeth Groupie

Jun 9, 2007