What can I expect?

Discussion in 'Second Grade' started by ErikaG, Jul 29, 2007.

1. ErikaG

ErikaG Rookie

Jul 29, 2007

I am a first year teacher. I did my student teaching in second grade and I will be teaching second grade this year. I know that the second graders that I experienced during the spring when I did my ST are not the same second graders that will be coming in August. What can I expect from my class the first few months? Abilities? Attitudes? Social skills? :thanks:

3. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jul 30, 2007

It takes consistency and patience to teach them the rules and routines of 2nd grade. I always look at it as I am moving them from the little league to the big league so there are many new expectations to learn.

4. Touchthefuture

Touchthefuture Comrade

Jul 30, 2007

This is a good age. They are really trying to be independent. Some of them really blossom in 2nd grade. They start out a little immature but by the end of the year they work better with group activities, centers,etc. With reading many of them really can decode words but lack comprehension. This is a pivotal year for that and fluency. They like reward systems of all types. I usually have an individual, group and class reward system. They do like to tattle so be prepared for that.

5. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Aug 1, 2007

Start planning three level lessons and activities for your low, middle and high students.

I usually have three or four who don't know all of their alphabet and are reading on a kindergarten level and three or four who are reading on a fourth or fifth grade level and everyone in between so differentiating is super important! Hopefully, your class will have a smaller range of abilities.

6. ErikaG

ErikaG Rookie

Aug 1, 2007

Thanks for all of the advice. I really appreciate it. I would love to hear more about second grade!

7. sophie1

sophie1 Comrade

Aug 4, 2007