What can I do to shake things up?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by mileyancie, Sep 21, 2009.

1. mileyancie

mileyancie Rookie

Sep 21, 2009

Hi! I am new to my grade level this year. I am in fifth grade, and I am finding that a lot of the teachers do the same old thing in Social Studies. The students read the lesson aloud and then do workbook pages. I just cannot do this every week, I'm going nuts. However, I am having some trouble coming up with good ideas.

I've broken them up into groups where each group reads a section and then shares three or four important things from their section with the class. This works well, but I don't want to do this every single week either. I have plenty of ideas for activities and modifying workbook pages, but I can't think of any good ways to get away from reading the lessons aloud every single time. Does anyone have any tried and true methods that they use and love?

Thanks!

3. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Sep 21, 2009

A few of the things I do to make learning fun:
    put the information on powerpoint
    assign projects and presentations
    use Weekly Reader or Scholastic News for current events
    utilize video clips
    foldables
    readers theater
    internet research
    graphic organizers

4. mileyancie

mileyancie Rookie

Sep 21, 2009

Thanks for your ideas! I think one of the problems that I'm having is lack of technology in my classroom. I can find so many great ideas, but most require something that I don't have access to. I don't have a computer or even an overhead projector! I think that is one of the reasons that I am having a hard time.

5. prek176

prek176 Companion

Sep 21, 2009