what book to study to pass?

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by lisawn, Jul 19, 2005.

1. lisawn

lisawn Rookie

Jul 19, 2005

Hello....
    I am starting to study for the CBEST,and want to make sure I am studying with a good book. I used the Kaplan for the CSET, and felt very unprepared! Any good suggestions?

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jul 19, 2005

NO book will really prepare you for all and only the questions you will see on a particular version of a particular test, because the tests get changed: what works is to learn the concepts and principles and then practice applying them. Having said that, I need to add that CBEST versions tend to change all together. The last major change to the standards behind the test was made in 2002, when the math section was tweaked pretty hard (volume and most area questions eliminated and test score interpretation added). If a prep book contains test score interpretation questions, it's current. You could also look for copyright dates later than 2002. Kaplan is among the up to date ones, as is Princeton Review. I think the second edition of LearningExpress works also.

If you feel you need help in only one or two sections, or if you'd like to work with something that will also help you help your future students pass tests, consider some of the books in LearningExpress's Skill Builders series, such as READING COMPREHENSION SUCCESS IN 20 MINUTES A DAY. Princeton Review has a fun series of math books under the title KNOW IT ALL - they mix review of math skills with some really off-the-wall trivia; the version for 6th to 8th grade should be plenty advanced for CBEST. For writing, a good choice is the SparkChart "New SAT: Writing". Even better is to find someone knowledgeable to evaluate your sample essays. (Yes, you do need to write sample essays.)

4. Eddie

Eddie Companion

Aug 1, 2005