What are your thoughts on introverted teachers?

Discussion in 'High School' started by futureteach24, Jul 20, 2012.

1. futureteach24

futureteach24 Companion

Jul 20, 2012

My P gave me a tour of the school for over an hour and I said almost nothing =( When he passed me off to my dept. chair at the end of the tour he told her I seemed nervous to him. Do you think they'll be upset once they find out I'm an introvert? I think I'm a good teacher (at least that's what I've been told). I'm a first year teacher by the way.

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Jul 20, 2012

I'm definitely an introvert when it comes to new situations so I probably wouldn't have said much either! However, once I warm up to people I can be very talkative. Mine mostly depends on who I'm around. I'm sure once you get to know the staff more of "you" will start to shine through. If they hired you then there was obviously something they liked about you!

4. bison

bison Habitué

Jul 20, 2012

If you're already hired, I think you'll be okay! It's probably a good idea to practice being a bit more social in these types of situations. I'm very much an introvert as well so I get it, but it's important to try and interact and relate to people when appropriate. A lot of being a teacher is being able to be "on" in front of your class, and you want to be able to show that you're able to do that. We just need that time to recharge after school. :)

5. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Jul 20, 2012

I'm an introvert, too, and it was always appreciated and respected at my schools.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 20, 2012

There are certainly successful introverted teachers. Do keep n mind, however, that peoples first impressions of you may be that you come off as shy, nervous, standoffish...as hard as it may be, you should gauge the situation and consider 'stretching yourself' a bit to overcome these impressions. Congrats on your new job and good luck!:thumb:

7. Aliceacc