What are your classroom procedures?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by adavant, Jul 28, 2013.

1. adavant

adavant Rookie

Jul 28, 2013

Last year, as a first year teacher I didn't realize the IMPORTANCE of Classroom Procedures. I don't want to make that mistake this year. Ill be teaching 6th , 7th and 8th grade.

What are MUST have procedures? I have these kids 1 hr a day.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 28, 2013

I have lots of procedures. The most important (to me) are:

Turning in work. I have class baskets (a basket for each class period) and students are directed to turn in all work there. They do not hand it to me, ever.

Picking up and putting away textbooks. One person from each row picks up textbooks. This job falls on different people at different times. Usually I'll ask the person with the shortest hair or darkest shirt or biggest shoes, whatever. When putting books away, books go on the bookshelf with spines vertical. They do not get returned in a haphazard, messy way.

End of class. Before being dismissed, books are put away, rows are straightened, trash is picked up off the floor, etc. It takes only a few seconds once students get used to this expectation.

Entering class. We start class every day with a bellringer/warm-up activity. Students enter the room, get their wiggles out, go to their assigned seats, and get started on the bellringer.

I don't allow students to leave class except in case of emergency, so I don't have a restroom procedure, but that one is definitely important if you allow bathroom passes.

Some other procedures to think about are pencil sharpening (when), getting up to get a kleenex and where to blow noses, etc.

4. HistoryVA

HistoryVA Devotee

Jul 28, 2013

I'm huge on procedures too. I'm happiest when my class is running on its own (minus my actual teaching :p).