What a new teacher needs to know

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by AMAHOGANY, Apr 13, 2008.

1. AMAHOGANY

AMAHOGANY Rookie

Apr 13, 2008

Hi Everyone,

I need some advice don't we all(LOL) I am thinking of embarking on changing careers from business to education. I want to teach secondary social studies but I hear history jobs are hard to come by is that true? Also what would you all share about teaching middle school. At times I hear middle school is the worst is that true? For all teachers out there if you could share one thing with me about teaching and what it takes to survive past my first year what would it be? Any middle school teachers that want to share there experience with this age job please feel free? Any and all advice is GREATLY appreciated. :help:
    :thanks:

3. KCTeacher

KCTeacher Rookie

Apr 14, 2008

Go for it! This is my first year teaching and I too am a career changer. I was in the banking/mortgage industry and I decided to become a teacher. I have heard that it is difficult to get a job in areas other than Math, Science, LA, and Spec. Ed. I am a first year math teacher teaching 7th grade. Yes it is a tough age to work with, but once you set the law down it's not too bad. I would say to student teach in different grades to decide on your own which grade it right for you. Many people told me never to do middle school and others said never to do high school. Everyone has their own opinion so you need to form your own one from experience. Also, my advice it not to quit. The first year is the hardest. I wanted to quit so many times and my family, friends, and principal convinced me to stick it out, and I'm glad I did. There actually is a "first year teacher curve" which shows that basically everyone hits rock bottom during your first year, but it gets better after that. I'm glad I stuck it out and my advice is to go for it! It isn't just fun and games though, it is a lot of work and people don't realize that. You always ca