What a Liar

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by blessedteacher, Nov 28, 2008.

1. blessedteacher

blessedteacher Rookie

Nov 28, 2008

Hello Teachers,

I need some general advice. I recently received notice that one of my second grade students lied about something that I had supposedly done in the classroom. It is totally false. I am supposed to have a conference with the parent on Monday. I am a first year teacher and this is all very new to me. Any advice that you can give would be greatly appreciatied. Thank you.

3. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Nov 28, 2008

That's a tough situation to deal with. Make sure you have an administrator present for that meeting. I would also ask the administrator to talk to the child and get details - when did this supposedly happen, what was the class doing, etc. If it was something that you allegedly did in class, then there should be witnesses. Can they talk to the other children in the class to get a good picture of the truth?

I'm dealing with a parent now who just makes things up to go to the principal, with --things I was supposed to have said to the parent, and it's hard to prove you didn't say something. Now I document everything, even that I said "good morning", every interaction I have with her. Also, this probably goes without saying, but don't ever leave yourself in the situation where you are alone with that student. Hope things work out well for you on Monday!

4. lemonhead

lemonhead Aficionado

Nov 28, 2008

How did you receive this notice? From the parent? Is it something the student said you did or you said?

You'll just have to hear out the parent of course and then explain what really happened.

Tell them "you know I try hard not to believe everything a child says goes on at home and hope parents don't believe everything a child says goes on at school, because in either case it is different from reality."

5. lemonhead

lemonhead Aficionado

Nov 28, 2008

Oh Kinder's advice is great!