Western Governor's University

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by bethann, Jun 4, 2007.

1. bethann

bethann Rookie

Jun 4, 2007

Hi all.

I am a preschool teacher with a bachelor's degree in journalism and an A.A. in Early Childhood. I would really like to obtain my elementary teaching certificate, but am in a small rural town - looking at driving over an hour and a half each way in order to complete the two years of courses. I have searched a lot online, and found Western Governors University. They offer an MAT (similar to the University of Phoenix, initial certification with a bachelor's - only way less expensive than UOP.) They are accredited by the National Teacher Accreditaion organization, and the university was created by 19 state governors - including my state.

Does anyone have any experience with this program? It is competency-based. You pay by term and complete what you can and pass assessments instead of earning credits. You still do the semester of student teaching. I am interested, but hesitant to go further until I've heard how others have found the program.

Thanks for your help.

Beth

3. Ms Z

Ms Z Companion

Jun 5, 2007

Hi

Im a student at WGU AND I LOVE IT!!!

It is competency-based. you write a lot of papers. and the whole program is accumulative.
    You pay by term and complete what you can , if is only the required 12 then fine but if you can finish 36 like some people have then you can ,, you save money because in the end your there a few semesters less...
    I think in The masters program your not required to do student teaching..
    I find this program challenging. and worth my money. some on line schools let you do open book exams, that you really dont learn anything from. WGU is not like these schools at all

4. Zanadu

Zanadu Companion

Jun 10, 2007