Western Civ. Project Idea

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Soccer Dad, Jan 1, 2011.

1. Soccer Dad

Soccer Dad Cohort

Jan 1, 2011

So I want to do a review project of sorts before our midterm week (last week of Jan). For my Western Civ classes, I was thinking of breaking students into groups of 5 and actually having them create their own textbook chapter. I've never done this before so I'm still unsure if this is asking too much of them, but I was hoping to have students create roughly 8-9 pages of text (with pictures, side boxes, and other add-ons) on a particular subject we've covered. The topics I'd include:
    1. Ancient Greece (before Pericles)
    2. Classical Greece (Pericles)
    3. The Roman World
    4. Christianity
    5. Byzantine Empire & Eastern Europe
    6. The Middle Ages
    7. The Renaissance
    8. The Reformation
    9. The Age of Exploration

I was thinking of starting the project off with, "Textbook publishers have been producing subpar history books for decades. After a record low quarter earning, they have enlisted your help to rewrite their Western Civilizations textbook. The publisher has decided to leave the formatting up to your discretion..."

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jan 1, 2011

Sounds fantastic!!

I would think they would need a bit of guidance-- what areas do you want them to include? What sort of bibliography? Think out a rubric and include it with the assignment.

But as a kid, especially if there had been such a thing as "internet access" I would have LOVED a project like that!

4. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jan 1, 2011

I think that it's a great project and a nice way to review. Make sure that you have them fill out some kind of organizer or planner to check over. You don't want them missing something important in any section or just being silly.

5. Soccer Dad

Soccer Dad Cohort

Jan 1, 2011