Well aint that a kick in the teeth!!!!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by kevmic28, Mar 30, 2012.

1. kevmic28

kevmic28 Companion

Mar 30, 2012

I have been subbing in a district since I graduated in December. I finally got in at a school that the principal is looking to fill 6 to 7 positions for next year. Im actually doing a 2 week LTS as sort of a trial interview and I find out today that the district is pushing through bilingual classes in the 3 schools that dont already have it. Instead of phasing it in, they are throwing teachers to the wolves by doing PreK, Kinder, and 1st all the first year. So thats 9 teachers that will be replaced by bilingual teachers and be put into any available positions at the other schools. Does not look good for me getting a position at this district. I have applied at every district in the DFW area and actually straight down I 35 to Corpus Christi. Im willing to relocate but cant seem to catch a break. I retired from my first career and went back to college to have a better future. 3 years ago it looked good but now I dont know.
    Im a 37 year old male and have custody of my 11 year old son. The teachers like me, the principals like me, the students like me. What do I have to do to find a job.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 30, 2012

It sounds like maybe you need to get a bilingual certification or relocate out of state.

4. kevmic28

kevmic28 Companion

Mar 30, 2012

yeah that sounds easy. It would take years for me to become fluent enough in Spanish to be able to teach it. So what state do you work in so I can move there???

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 30, 2012

It would take years, yes, but it's not too late to start.

You can try moving to Southern Nevada. What are you licensed to teach?

6. kevmic28

kevmic28 Companion

Mar 30, 2012

EC-6 generalist and ell cert.

7. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Mar 30, 2012