Welcome Postcards

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by TeachGrd1, Jul 31, 2005.

1. TeachGrd1

TeachGrd1 Rookie

Jul 31, 2005

This is my first year teaching and our orientation isn't until the second week of school. I talked to my mentor about sending out leters to the parents. She said that we have letters already made where we just input info about ourselves and we include that at the orientation night. She reccomended sending out postcards addressed to the individual student. I think this is a great idea, but it is such a small space to write. Does anyone do the postcards? If you do, what do you write? I have already addressed them, I just want some feedback on what to write.

I was thinking something like this: (The front says, "Let's Learn, Can't wait to see you at school!")

Dear Student,

Welcome to the first grade! I cain't wait to see you in room 1A on August 17th!

Should I add more? I was thinking about adding a cute little phrase about coming to school ready to learn with a smile.

Any advice would be great!

3. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Jul 31, 2005

I do postcards, but I put them in the students welcome bags. We get our student lists 2 nights before school starts, so they wouldn't get to most homes on time.
    I think what you have is great! You might add another line, or you might add a cute sticker.

4. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Jul 31, 2005

I have postcards this year, and they will be included in the welcome packets like Miss W.'s. :) I may also include a letter besides that for the first day of school.

5. teacher62604

teacher62604 Companion

Jul 31, 2005

I'm the same way, I give post cards on the first day of school on thier desks, because we too, don't get our lists till just before school starts. But good luck!

6. Miss W

Miss W Phenom

Jul 31, 2005

In my welcome packet I put the postcard, 2 sharpened pencils (one with apples the other says "2nd graders are #1"), an eraser, 2 pieces of candy, and 2 stickers.