Weird Tension with neighboring Teacher

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by MsAbeja, Mar 30, 2017.

1. MsAbeja

MsAbeja Companion

Mar 30, 2017

Hi All,

I'm a first-year teacher. I actually student taught during the first semester of school and then took over the classes during second semester, once my credential cleared (my cooperating teacher went on leave.) I have worked at this school district as an Instructional Assistant for over 5 years.

Recently, there seems to be a lot of passive aggressive, tense energy coming from a neighboring teacher and I have no idea how to handle it. She has always been very nice to me when I was an assistant. I subbed for her class once or twice before I got my full credential, and she's always seemed very friendly.

However, lately she seems to be giving me the cold shoulder, and acting really fake with me, and I'm confused. Yesterday she called my class two separate times during one block period to tell me that we were being too loud. The first time no one was even talking, we were watching a video and I don't think the volume was loud, but she said her students were taking a quiz so I suppose it could have sounded louder to her silent room. She called a second time, and the truth is we were playing some review games, so all of the groups were talking and sometimes getting excited when they won a match, but the were not yelling or anything like that.

She has called once before, a week or two ago, and when I answered the phone she said "Is this a sub?!" implying that the students were so out of control loud that I MUST be a substitute teacher.

Thing is, I really don't think that my kids are loud. They might have their moments, and I could have understood these calls a few months ago when I was still getting into the hang of being The Teacher, but not recently. I will say that classroom management is an ongoing area that I find myself tweaking and working on, but in no way are my students out of control.