Weird situation

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by girlblue16, Mar 2, 2008.

1. girlblue16

girlblue16 Rookie

Mar 2, 2008

So, I'm a certified teacher, minus the actual teaching job :eek:
    I've been working as a Special Education Para for the past year. The past three months I was given a Long Term Sub position at my school for a teacher on maternity leave. She comes back tomorrow, and I go back to being a para.
    Feels like a huge step backwards. I know I was lucky, in the right place at the right time, thankful, etc for the LT Sub position. But now its over.
    It's going to be weird being the little peon, yet again. Doing the **** work of playground duty, lunch duty, etc.

I feel like I should start looking for other positions, outside of my school, since there are none available at this time. Or, maybe, stick it out for the rest of the year and see what happens.

Any thoughts?

3. heatherleigh

heatherleigh Companion

Mar 2, 2008

ohhh sounds like my life. my first year out i taught K in my own classroom. i moved back to my own state with my fiance took a preschool position at a childcare center since teaching jobs were short and a $10,000+ paycut. this year we moved again to an area in ohio even worse off for jobs... i'm a building sub (hated daycare) so i like the work better but i'm still not doing what i love and making even less money!
    my advice... start looking for other positions for the upcoming school year. that way you can keep your commitment to the job your in but be ready for something better next year. if something comes up and they want you to start right away, decide what to do then. i'm sure the people at your school would understand... you are after all in a position you are overqualified for!
    GOOD LUCK!

4. girlblue16

girlblue16 Rookie

Mar 2, 2008