Weighting Grades ~ %!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Starista, Sep 30, 2010.

1. Starista

Starista Cohort

Sep 30, 2010

Hello!

Newbie to 3rd grade here with a quick weighting question!

I've taught lower primary in the past but this is my first year in 3rd and am I asking for some tips on weighting grades.

I plan to start this in the 2nd quarter, which believe it or not is right around the corner!!! :)

If you weigh grades, please let me know what % you allocate to tests versus quizzes versus homework, etc.

Also -- how exactly do you grade homework? Are you looking for completion/effort rather than accuracy? THANKS SO MUCH. :hugs:

3. Mr D

Mr D Comrade

Sep 30, 2010

I teach 4th and 5th grade math and social studies. I teach in a Catholic school so I also teach religion to 5th grade (my homeroom).

For me, the weighting of grades depends on the class. I grade most assignments, and grade them for accuracy. Occasionally I check papers for completion but don't count them in the average when I do. In math, we have a grade (sometimes two) just about every day, so it is a lot of grades. Because of this, I have classwork and homework set to 65%. This seems like a lot until you consider that there will probably be around 30 grades in this category by the end of the nine weeks. Tests and projects are the remaining 35%, and there are usually 3 or 4 grades in this category.

For social studies and religion, there aren't as many homework/classwork grades, so I split the weights as 50% for homework/classwork and 50% tests.