Weekly School-Wide Assemblies

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by cheeryteacher, Mar 7, 2019.

1. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Mar 7, 2019

I am interested in incorporating a weekly school-wide assembly at my school. I used to work in a school that had Monday Meetings, and I thought it was a great way to bring the school together, discuss issues, and celebrate successes. Do any of you work at a school that incorporates weekly school wide meetings? What do you do at your meetings? What is your take on them?

3. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Groupie

Mar 7, 2019

I would avoid this idea, unless you want a bunch of resentful teachers.

futuremathsprof likes this.
  4. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Mar 7, 2019

I don't want that, lol. I transferred to the school that did the weekly assemblies and it was just a part of the culture and the teachers were fine. I don't know anything about how they came to be and if there was any push back when they were initially started.

5. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Mar 7, 2019

We don't have a space large enough for our entire student body.

6. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Mar 7, 2019

I think it's a lovely idea if you can get staff buy in and it's done in an organized fashion.

7. rpan

rpan Cohort

Mar 8, 2019

I’m personally not a fan. Especially if it’s a meeting for meeting sake and you don’t have anything really meaningful to share or discuss. I have one every 6 weeks or so and that’s a perfect amount for me. I enjoy those assemblies.

8. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Mar 8, 2019

If you have specific topics to cover then maybe once per quarter? I wouldn't have an assembly just to have an assembly.

9. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Mar 8, 2019